Àkàrà Dreams-Episode Two

“Dolapo, you alright?” Bolu asked, trying to step out of the car, but he changed his mind and allowed her to enter the vehicle. “I saw you talking to that woman and figured you might want an escape.” He winked.

Dolapo’s shoulders relaxed as she sat in the car and used the seat belt. “Bolu! I felt scared half to death. Thanks for the rescue. It was a bit creepy, to be honest, especially since it’s getting dark.”

Bolu chuckled. “Yeah, I think something might be wrong with her. By the way, I usually go out with my wife’s car. You know, Sola’s car is portable, and I prefer using it while running errands, but her car is with the mechanic, so I am stuck with this one,” he said, smiling.

“Oh, that explains why I couldn’t recognize you at first. Meanwhile, Thank you for looking out for Sola. Please, don’t stop taking care of her!” Dolapo said with a playful nudge.

Bolu laughed heartily. “Stopping isn’t part of the plan. I’m on a pizza run right now. She’s craving it badly.”

Dolapo’s eyes widened. “Wait? That’s so sweet! She must have been on your neck to get it.”

“She was,” Bolu confirmed, shifting gears. “You know your friend well. So, where are you headed? I should’ve asked that first. My bad.”

Dolapo waved it off. “No worries, it’s just the next junction. Thanks a bunch, Bolu.”

“Alright. You’re welcome. How is school and work coming? You are in your finals, not so?” Bolu asked.

“Yes, and it’s got my neck in a chokehold.” They both burst into a loud laugh. “It’s my last semester, and combining project work and classes is difficult. I wonder how I will cope once I start writing tests and preparing for exams. Work has been slow because of electricity. It’s so frustrating, but I’m coping.” She smiled

“Sounds intense. I’m so sorry you must go through all that,” Bolu sympathized. On Sola’s behalf, I’d love to treat you to dinner. Consider it a thank you for being such a great friend. No stress; pick whatever you want on this app.” He held out his phone.

Dolapo’s eyes lit up. “Bolu, you’re a lifesaver! This will definitely save me the stress of cooking tonight.” She smiled and placed her order. By the time they reached the junction, Dolapo’s food was already on its way.

“Thanks again, Bolu. Give Sola a big hug from me.”

“More like a million kisses,” Bolu teased. They both giggled. “The delivery guy will call you. Take care, Dolapo.”

Dolapo got home and was excited at the sight of electricity. She had zeroed her mind from going to Sammy’s since it looked like she got herself sorted for the night. The delivery guy brought in her food a few minutes after she had entered. She saw a movie while eating, and when she was done, she dove back into her client’s project, working through the night until exhaustion won over.

***

The aroma of melting cheese and tomato sauce wafted through the living room. Engrossed in an online webinar, Sola barely registered the scent until Bolu’s voice boomed from downstairs.

“Sola, I’m back!”

She smiled at the thought of him. She finally got what she was craving. “Coming down, babe!” she called back, quickly wrapping up the video call she was on.

As Sola walked into the living room, the aroma of pizza hit her like a warm hug. By the time she reached where Bolu was, he had already unboxed one of the pizza boxes. Its cheesy goodness is displayed beautifully on the coffee table in their living room. He grinned at her and pulled her in for a quick kiss, sending a delicious shiver down her spine.

“My hardworking wifey! I’m sure you were probably in a meeting,” he said, tucking some strands of her braids behind her ear. His fingers lingered, gently tracing the curve of her cheek before trailing down to her neck. Sola leaned into his touch and chuckled, ‘Well, you are right. I just joined some online webinars that would be useful for my foundation.’

Bolu squeezed her hands gently. ‘I know. Have I ever told you how proud of you I am?’ Sola blushed. You should say it often.’ Both of them smiled. ‘I am so proud of you, baby.’ He suddenly tickled her, and both busted into a loud laugh.

‘That reminds me, I saw your friend, Dolapo, and dropped her at her junction,’ Bolu said. ‘Oh, thank you, honey. She would be grateful; she had a long day.’ ‘I figured.’ Bolu said.

“I brought extras,” Bolu said almost immediately with a wink, changing the topic. He gestured toward the second pizza box. “Extra pepperoni, just the way you like it.”

“Really? Oh my God, thank you so much, babe. You are the best husband in the world!” She said, and planted a kiss on his cheeks — he blushed.

They settled onto the plush sofa, Bolu pulling her close to snuggle between his legs. She grabbed a slice, the melted cheese stretching enticingly. “How did your day go, Mr. Tech Guru? Did you save the world of finance from another software glitch?” She teased.

Bolu scoffed and took a bite of the slice of pizza in his hand , his eyes crinkling with amusement. “Not quite world-saving, but a challenge. We’re working on integrating a new payment system for our product, and let me tell you, it’s been a bit of a headache. But the team’s cracking the code, and I’m optimistic that everything would work out perfectly.”

He took a sip of his drink, then leaned closer. “Speaking of cracking codes, did you see that new enrollment strategy I suggested for the Girl Hub website? I think it might make the signup process smoother for the girls.”

Sola’s eyes lit up. “Bolu, that’s brilliant! I was brainstorming ways to simplify things for them. Let me see what you came up with.”

‘No, wifey. Not now, common. You are closed for the day. Just relax.’ He smiled.

She laughed, and her shoulders dropped slightly. ‘No, wahala. Please share what you have with me so I can check it by tomorrow. Thank you so much, babe. And, trust me, you are going to crack that challenge at work. I trust you.”

‘I love you too,’ he said as he played with her cheeks.

As they devoured the pizza, Bolu’s fingers found their way to her hair, gently combing through the long, clustered braid strands as they started to see a series they had been seeing on Showmax.

When the last slice was gone, Sola, feeling pleasantly full, excused herself for a shower. Bolu settled back on the couch and continued watching the series.

By the time Sola left the bathroom, a fresh towel wrapped around her hair, Bolu was ready for bed. He stood and pulled her in for a lingering kiss, “You smell like fresh bread,” he whispered in her ear, and they laughed.

‘I need some water on this body.’ Bolu said and left for the bathroom. By the time he was done, Sola was done with her skincare routine and was in bed. Bolu went to his drawer and opened it gently, not wanting his wife to notice.

He took out some pills and used them. He later climbed in beside his wife, the familiar scent of her lavender lotion arousing a familiar yearning. He inched closer, his hand trailing down her arm. Sola stiffened slightly, a flicker of something he couldn’t quite decipher crossing her face. ‘No, Bolu, I am never doing this with you! Good night.’ She hissed slightly and turned to the other side of their bed.

***

The next morning, Dolapo fumbled for her phone, silencing the insistent alarm. Sleep clung to her like a second skin. When she finally woke up, she stumbled to the bathroom, wincing at her puffy face — a consequence of late-night work without her glasses.

She said a quick prayer and grabbed her phone like her next breath was hanging there. With her internet on, notifications flooded her screen. Among them, an email from her client stood out. A nervous flutter started in her stomach. ‘I am done with the story, just some edits here and there, and I will send it to you. What is it again, now?’ she muttered under her breath. However, her face changed when she saw the subject of the email. It screamed, “We Have a Deal for You!”

Dear Dolapo,

We’ve been incredibly impressed with your contributions to our ghostwriting company. As a token of our appreciation, we’d like to offer you a full-time position instead of freelance work.

This would involve a monthly salary of $175, regardless of the workload.

We’ll be happy to draft a formal contract if you’re interested. We’re also eagerly awaiting the completion of your current project.

Best regards,

Sarah.

Dolapo’s mind raced. “$175 a month? Is it worth it? What if I get a contract job that could give me more in a month? But what if I don’t get any contract, this is like a stable income. God, I’m so confused!’ Dolapo screamed into her pillow.

***

The sun pierced through the big windows in Sammy’s shop, showing off all the colorful clothes on the racks. Her brand and studio, Melanin Magic, was known for its bright African prints, clothes that flatter any figure, and fancy decorations.

Sammy moved quickly across the shiny floor. The sound of a sewing machine cutting fabric filled the air, along with the giggles of her two workers, Aisha and Tola. Aisha is a tall and thin dark lady in her late teens. She has tiny braids and is carefully ironing a shiny gold dress, focusing hard on it. Tola, who is shorter and a little fair, is sorted through a pile of bright African print fabrics, her fingers moving quickly.

“Aisha, how’s that dress going?” Sammy asked, looking over Aisha’s shoulder.

Aisha adjusted the tape rule on her neck and smiled. “Almost done! I’m left with a little adjustment with the neckline. This fabric is hard to work with, just like Lagos traffic in rush hour.”

Sammy laughed. “Lagos traffic is the least of our problems, girl. Fashion Week is almost here! These clothes need to be amazing. Don’t forget, we’re showing our stuff next to some of the biggest names in fashion!”

Aisha grinned even wider. “Don’t worry, Sammy. Melanin Magic is going to be a hit on the runway. These clothes are killer!”

Suddenly, the shop door opened with a jingle, and a young woman with short, stylish hair walked in with a playful smile.

“Hey, everyone,” she said, her voice full of confidence. “Just here to grab some awesome accessories for my girls’ night out this weekend.”

Tola’s face lit up. “Welcome! We have everything you need to look amazing. Wigs, earrings, bags, ready-to-wear dresses, everything!”

The customer giggled, looking through a display of colorful dresses. “So many choices! Could you help me out, dear? What would you recommend for cocktails and gossip with my friends?”

Tola, a natural salesperson, started talking excitedly about a bright red headwrap dinner gown with gold details. Her energy was contagious.

While Tola talked to the customer, Sammy kept checking out the clothes and fabrics in the store and picking the ones suitable for fashion week. As she was about to get to the row the customer was, her phone buzzed in her pocket, stopping her for a moment. She took it out and frowned as she read the message. It was from Tunji, her boyfriend.

Without a word, she shoved the phone back in her pocket and forced a smile, returning her attention to a rack of shimmering gold dresses. But the vibrant colors suddenly seemed muted. The rhythmic snip-snip of the sewing machine and the cheerful chatter from the back room felt distant, a muffled soundtrack to the turmoil brewing within her.

She sank onto a plush velvet stool tucked away in a corner, her fingers drumming a nervous rhythm on the smooth surface. Tunji’s message replayed in her mind. The next thing she heard was the slam of the studio door — the customer was done shopping. Her phone chimed again, ‘Babes, I think we should hang out.’ It was a message from Sola.

To be continued in the next episode.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started