Àkàrà Dreams-Episode One

The unforgiving Ibadan sun beat had turned Dolapo’s thoughts to faraway lands. She fantasized about the layers of clothing she’d need when she finally moved abroad, a stark contrast to the single, sweat-drenched shirt clinging to her back.

The ozone layer, ravaged by years of burning waste, has begun to lose its protective ability—the heat in Ibadan was a relentless assault.

The bad news didn’t end there. The power supply is erratic as a teenager who battles with constant mood swings. Everyone keeps praying for electricity, chasing after every available outlet, like nomads.

Unfortunately, Dolapo is one of those nomads. She had just finished a class on Grammar, and the smell of the perfume oil she had applied earlier that morning had curdled with her sweat, morphing into an unrecognizable scent. Thanks to the heat. She could have brought the oil with her, she thought, but it was too late because the sweat had produced another fragrance of the oil.

Dolapo gulped down the last of her water, the plastic bottle crumpling in her hand. Sweat plastered her back to her oversized blue jeans as she left the department.

As she wiped a bead of sweat from her brow, she caught a glimpse of her reflection in a shop window. Her naturally black hair, usually worn down to showcase her oval face, was pulled back in a high ponytail just for a change, which felt like a symbol of her determination, just like the financial goals swirling in her head — what pushed her to plug on her Airpod and to listen to Ezinne’s ‘how I went from lack to abundance’ podcast.

She had been serious about her financial independence mantra. Although her parents, who are civil servants, tried to provide everything she needed as much as possible, she didn’t want to always depend on them. So, when she got into 300 level, her penultimate year in school, she’d dived headfirst into freelance writing and focused on flooding her lifestyle blog.

Dolapo finished listening to the podcast and tapped her Airpod to turn it off. She stepped into the Tedder cafeteria to eat. The air hung heavy with the competing aromas of frying food and hungry students desperate to get food on their plates. She got to the counter and ordered rice worth 400 Naira, meat, pònmó, and fish.

‘Can you please give me bottled water?’ she asked the sales girl, who gave her a bottle of Navana for 150 Naira. She left to get her food and waited in the queue until it was her turn.

While waiting, she took out her phone and switched it to power-saving mode — it was down to a mere 15% battery. She hoped to find a place to charge in school, work on her assignment, and meet her client’s deadline — but first, she wanted to silence the distracting murmur coming from her stomach.

‘It’s 400 Naira rice I ordered o,’ she told the woman, scooping the second spoon of jollof rice into her plate and closing the warmer. The rice looked too small for 400 naira, and she thought the woman probably had not seen the food receipt well. The woman looked at her with a pale face, and she got the nonverbal cue. At Least, studying English Language as a course made her understand that.

She collected her food and found a good spot in the cafeteria to eat. When she got to a comfortable place where fewer eyes would be on her, she removed her spoon from her bag, as she had learned to always go to the public cafeteria and canteen with a spoon, and started eating.

She focused on her food but allowed her mind to wander around the cafeteria. A stray cobweb dangling from the ceiling sent shivers down her spine. She threw admiring glances towards a fellow student with a stunning dress. A man’s peculiar gait elicited a silent giggle. She finished her food and started her search for electricity.

Her first stop was Kenneth Dike Library (KDL). She entered the library, hoping she’d be able to charge her things. She held her library card and was given two parcels to enter the library. She was on the stairs to the third floor when she met a guy from the library’s chat room.

‘ Hi. Sorry, is there light?’ she asked the guy. The guy was leaving the chat room, perhaps wanting to use electricity, too. ‘There isn’t, ‘ he said and walked down the stairs.

Dolapo was a little disappointed, but she knew another spot, a sure spot she could charge — Access Bank. It was close to Queens Hall. She took Keke because she was getting tired. When she got to Access Bank, she could see different kinds of people. Young, old, tall, fat, and skinny. She also saw different types and shapes of extensions. She stood at the bank’s gate and marveled at the view she had just seen. She damned it and thought she would probably find a tiny spot, but unfortunately, everywhere was filled up.

‘I should have come earlier. What the …Jesus Christ! What the hell is going on in this country? Why do I have to look for electricity everywhere like it was some lost coin.’ She continued mumbling words and walked out from the bank’s gate. ‘My last resort is the Chapel of Resurrection. I would beg the security men as I used to, and I would be able to enter and use the place.’ she told herself. She dragged her tired self on her weak legs to the chapel. Fortunately, there was electricity.

‘Good afternoon, sir. Please, I would like to charge. My stuff is dead, and there’s no light currently where I stay.’ she said with all the humility left in her.

‘You want to charge?’ The security man asked her again as if he hadn’t heard her when she said it at first.

‘Yes, sir.’

‘This place is not for charging. Don’t you have a library card?’ He asked.

‘I do, sir. I have been to the library, but there is no light.’ she responded, hoping that would convince the security man to allow her in.

The security man told her they were preparing for a program and that the place was being set up for an event. She stood listening to the story, hoping he would let her go inside, but the story didn’t end well.

Another guy approached the entrance and wanted to boycott the security man, but he sent him back and started giving histories meant to reset his brain and teach him humility.

‘What is going on here? I need to charge my phone; it’s dead,’ a new lady who had just approached the entrance asked Dolapo, who was a little away from where the security man was staying. ‘They won’t allow us to enter.’ Dolapo responded.’ Later, the lady lied and told the security man she was going to the toilet downstairs, and he allowed her in. That was where Dolapo lost it. She was annoyed because someone could lie and go scott-free. She left the chapel and took a Keke to the school gate.

‘Instead of going home angry, why don’t I go to Ice and Creme and relax my nerves with some Ice Cream?’ she told herself and continued to walk from the school gate to the place. All the gazebos were full when she got there, so she grabbed a seat where a dark guy was sitting, holding a book.

‘What’s your name?’ the guy said, breaking the silence. She looked up from her plate of Fannice Ice cream, ‘Dolapo.’ She responded briefly and prayed under her breath that the guy would not say anything else, but she was wrong.

‘Are you preparing for Jamb?’ he asked again. She laughed so hard within her but only gave a dry smile outside. ‘No, I am not trying to get an admission.’ ‘So, you are already in school? In the University of Ibadan and at 200 level?’ She laughed this time, ‘No, I am in my final year.’ Shocked, ‘Oh wow. You’d be older than I am then. You are 21, not so?’

She was already uncomfortable with his questions but kept her lovely smile. ‘No, I am not 21.’ ‘Okay, so how old are you, then?’ he asked, curious. ‘It doesn’t count, really.’ ‘please, let me know.’ he insisted. ‘You know what?’ she said, swallowing another scoop of ice creme. ‘I will just grab a seat over there.’ she stood up with her plate of ice creme to move to sit at another gazebo that was now free. ‘So, you are leaving me alone right here, yeah?’ he screamed as she left. She smiled and heaved a sigh of relief as she left him.

She continued to enjoy her ice cream when her phone vibrated—it was Sammy. ‘Baby girl, can you please come on WhatsApp? I’m on a video call with Fadesola. We are waiting for you to join us. I have news to share!’ She sounded excited.

‘Okay, okay, slow down, alright? My phone is on 15 %, and I’m not sure it would carry me,’ Dolapo sulked. ‘It is not going to be long, common, join already. We are waiting.’ She said and dropped the call.

‘Ahnahn, Dolly baby! How are you?’ Sola said, putting a strand of her braids at the back of her ear and focusing on seeing Dolapo. ‘You guys, I am not fine, o.’ Getting electricity has been frustrating. I walked the whole of the University of Ibadan today because I needed to charge my appliances, but I didn’t get a place to do that.’ Dolapo said tiredly.

‘I’m so sorry, D. Peele. But Sammy said you could stay with her.’ ‘That’s true, Sola, but you know, Sammy stays in Akobo, far from school. The transport fare is not smiling, and I can’t afford that right now.’ she slapped her right hand over her head.

‘I told you to get a small generator, but you say you cannot afford it, whereas you can, but it is not your priority. I guessed you hadn’t suffered enough for electricity.’ Sammy interrupted, giving a mockery laugh. ‘Sammy, I know you are not nice. I’ll sha come to your place tonight once you return from your fashion studio.’ Dolapo said.

‘So, what are you going to do, for now? ‘ Sola asked. ‘Nothing, really; I’ll just… I’ll just go home. Today’s struggle is done abeg.’ Suddenly, Sammy interrupted again, ‘Wait o, Dolapo, is that not Ice and Cream? What are you doing there?’ She asked, almost bursting into a loud laugh.

Dolapo and Sola knew where she was headed, and both laughed. ‘Nigeria cannot kill me o. I came here to use ice cream to relax my nerves and sweep today’s frustration from my body.’ Dolapo said. ‘Oshey omo mii. You ehn, you never see frustration, D, you still dey drink Ice creme! Nigeria got nothing on you, baby girl.’ Sammy teased. Three of them laughed uncontrollably over the call. ‘But for real, I love what you did, D. It’s nice you did that instead of throwing the frustration everywhere.’ Sola said.

‘Yeah…and you guys, see me see something o. Where I was sitting peacefully eating my ice cream, not this small boy asking me if I wanted to write Jamb!’ Dolapo said, giggling. ‘Ehn! Write jamb ke?’ Sammy said and burst into a loud laugh.

‘But why, though?’ Sola asked while laughing mildly. Shola, you dey fall my hand, o. You still dey ask why? Take a look at your 23-year-old finalist, na. With those outfits and bare face without makeup, she looks like a secondary school girl.’ Sammy continued laughing.

‘That one sef dey,’ Sola said and smiled. ‘So, what else did he say, and what does he want?’ she asked. ‘He was asking for my age and all, omo; my body wasn’t even ready for cock and bull story. I just left where he was and sat in a different place. Na relax I wan relax, make nobody stress my life.’ Dolapo said and laughed.

‘But babe, you’ve got to go out looking chic, once in a while, not every time non fitted clothes. Get a dress and a classic wig, beat your face up a little, and all these small boys would not be approaching you. And thanks to God, you know I sell all these things in my studio, and you will get a good discount from me.’ Sammy said.

‘Abeg, Sammy, you know I don’t make a fuss about all those.’ Dolapo rested her chin on her right hand and stared at her phone. ‘Then expect more toasting from boys you are older than. Well, maybe you don’t mind…’ Sola cuts into Sammy as she laughs. ‘Please leave D and her suitors alone. Why exactly did you video call us? Because you haven’t said anything about it and have almost finished Dolapo on this call.’ She dried a teardrop from her face. She had laughed really hard. The three of them laughed and set to listen to what Sammy had to say.

‘Okay, so you guys! You remember the biggest fashion school I told you about in Lagos that I pitched to them to partner and sponsor my fashion week event?’ ‘Yes, yes.’ Dolapo and Sola chorused expectantly. ‘Guys! They sealed the deal today! They said they would be fully involved in all the activities for the fashion week and even bring more artists and workmanship if I needed more! Guys, I am so excited!’

‘Oh my God, Sammy! I am so, so proud of you! Congratulations, baby girl. I had always known you could do so much more for your business,’ Sola said excitedly. Baby, you are hitting your milestones! Sending you kisses!’ Dolapo said, laughing from ear to ear.

‘If you need help with anything else, don’t hesitate to let us know. That said, can you please forward your account details to me again? I think I lost it. I’ll send a little something to support the fashion week.’ Sola said with a smile. ‘Ah, when Sola says a little something, prepare to be shocked! Oh my God, baby, thank you so much!’ Sammy said, drying the tears on her face.

‘Y’all know I am still a student, and I don’t have so much, but Sammy, you know I am here for you, right? Just let me know how I can help with publicity, content creation, or whatever you want me to help with. I am here for you.’ Dolapo added. ‘You guys are honestly making me tear up. What did I ever do to deserve you angels in my life?’ Sammy cleaned her face again. ‘We know you’d do the same for us, Sammy.’ Dolapo said and smiled.

Sammy got distracted from the call for a few seconds, guys; please forgive me; I would have to leave the call soon; my babe is here. We are going on a date to celebrate what just happened.’ She blushed. ‘God abeg. Ago love o’, Sola said, laughing.’ ‘it’s good you are laughing, Sola, because you have a fine man you are married to. If there is anyone supposed to be saying God abeg, na me. Sha, this love go reach everybody, o.’ Dolapo giggled. Sola and Sammy burst into laughter.

‘Please, greet Tunji for us and tell him to do quick and propose o. So that we can comman eat rice.’ Dolapo added. They laughed. ‘You sef, goan find a man and stop all this shakara wey you dey do so.’ Sola said, pointing to Dolapo from her screen like she could touch her.

“Abi, with all the fine men in your church and school, you ain’t crushing on any; no one is crushing on you either. Ah. Dolapo, you need help. A serious one.” Sammy said, teasing her. Dolapo laughed. “Don’t trip, guy. You two know when it’s time, it’s time, yeah? But for now, I’m honestly enjoying where I’m at and so happy I have friends who have a beautiful partner and It’s a reminder that I cannot do less.’ Dolapo said, this time with a serious tone.

‘Right? We trust your decision, and I believe God’s got the best for you. Enjoy your singlehood; it’s a gift you shouldn’t overlook.” Sammy said. “I agree with Sammy on this one,” Sola added.

‘What do you mean you agree with me on this one? Sola, you are breaking my heart.’ she pretended to cry. Sola laughed. “Yes, na, you are always on D’s neck, but you made a lot of sense this time.” “Sola?” They laughed.

“Quick one before I go. It seems like you didn’t go to work today, Sola.” Sammy asked. “No, I did not. I decided to work from home. And for my foundation, I am taking a little step backward to strategize for the year,” Sola said.

“That is great! Good work you are doing with your tech foundation — Girl Hub. A few people who had shown interest in learning tech, and I directed them to your foundation, came back singing your praises. I’m proud of you. D, too, can testify to that fact,” Sammy said.

“Aww. This made me melt. Thank you so much, you guys. I love you so much.”

“Sammy, please bring some food pack from your date; I’m coming to yours tonight.” Dolapo changed the conversation. “Look at you,” Sammy said and laughed.

Sola laughed, too. “By the way, we should do something about this light issue, D. Please remind me at the beginning of next month. I’ll send you something, and you can add it to what you have to get a generator. “

“Remind me too; I’ll add the rest,” Sammy added.

Honestly, you guys are my sugar mummies, and I’m not letting go of you! Thank you so much, sweethearts.” She blushed.

“Okay, you all, I gotta go. It was nice seeing your beautiful faces. Bye.” Three of them waved, and Sammy ended the call.

Dolapo’s phone battery ended with the call, and she was back to her reality. But she’s happy she has amazing friends around her.

She checked her time, and it was past 8. A call came in on her work line, which she had put in her small Nokia phone. “Hi, Dolapo. How far are you with the story? Are you almost done with it? How many words have you written now?” the client asked over the phone.

“Err… hey, hi. I’m so sorry. I should have turned it in, but I’m having a little itch with electricity. I’m left with less than 10,000 words. Please give me two more days, and I’ll send it.” She said the last sentence and was scared she would be unable to meet the deadline with her tight schedule.

“Okay, Dolapo. Please, do not disappoint. I have more projects you’ll be working on for me. So, turn this in as soon as possible to move forward.”

“Sure. Thank you,” Dolapo said and cringed after the call dropped. But why do I have to write this much and get paid for #5 per word? I hope I’m not cheating myself. But I have to survive.”

As Dolapo set to leave and contemplated whether to take a bike or Keke home, she sighed at the sight of her dead phone — a heavy burden in her pocket. She’d just finished a beautiful conversation with Sammy and Sola, a breath of fresh air replacing the frustration of the day. But the client’s call brought reality crashing back.

Less than 10,000 words left, two days to go, and no electricity. Defeat gnawed at her.

Suddenly, a flicker of movement in the fading light caught her eye. A figure emerged behind her across the street, shrouded in darkness. Dolapo’s heart hammered in her chest. Was it just someone else seeking refuge or something more sinister?

The figure began to cross the street, its pace purposeful. Dolapo clutched her bag firmly to her chest, not wanting to lose any of her things to a stranger.

As the figure drew closer, a glint of metal flashed in the dim light. Dolapo’s breath caught in her throat. Was it a knife?

The figure stopped a few feet away. The streetlight cast a sliver of light on their face, revealing a young woman with tear-stained cheeks.

“Excuse me,” the woman choked out, her voice trembling. “Do you… have a power bank?”

Dolapo blinked, momentarily stunned. The woman held out a phone, its screen displaying the same low battery warning Dolapo knew all too well.

Relief washed over Dolapo, tinged with a new concern. Who was this woman? Why was she out alone at night, looking so desperate?

“I, uh, there is no power on it,” Dolapo stammered, her voice barely a whisper.

The woman’s shoulders slumped. Disappointment flickered in her eyes, a mirror to Dolapo’s own.

Suddenly, a horn blared, startling both of them. A sleek black car pulled up beside Dolapo, its headlights momentarily blinding.

“Dolapo Adebayo?” a man’s voice called out from the driver’s seat.

Dolapo glanced at the tearful woman beside her, then back at the man. A knot of worry tightened in her stomach.

“Get into the car, now!…” he said, his voice husky.

To be continued in the next episode

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started